Less is more

Image

I love simple things. I grew up with a family that cooked and baked all the time. But we also got fast food and had the typical Oreos and Little Debbies like every normal busy family. We really did make a lot of what we eat – mashed potatoes were never from the box, and chicken was baked, grilled, or sautéed. We had a cholesterol scare with my dad and after that everything became Fat free this and reduced calorie that. After watching Food, Inc. (a documentary everyone should see) I started realizing how important it was to read the label of a product. As I have come to know more and more about food, it’s amazing the things that are produced for the grocery store shelves that have a laundry list of 20 ingredients, but if made at home could include MAYBE five ingredients. My rule of thumb is that if you can’t pronounce an ingredient, its probably not good for you. I am an EXTREMELY indecisive person and when there are so many things to choose from, it makes my decisions that much harder! I could spend HOURS at the grocery store just looking at all the different products, only to realize I could just make most of it myself with a fraction of the ingredients – it would also taste better and be more healthful.  I know sometimes it’s easier just to buy it, but if you take the time to do it, it will be so worth it in the end.  I LOVE food and I’m so glad I have a good relationship with it . Image

These cookies were so fun to make, and support my peanut butter addiction 🙂 Peanut butter and jelly is just the perfect combination. The recipe is from a blog I love to read, http://joythebaker.com/. Her recipes are great and she’s funny!  It also only has 5 ingredients 🙂

Peanut butter and jelly thumbprints

Image

1 cup all natural peanut butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup of you favorite jam

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or grease with butter.  Combine peanut butter and sugars and mix until combined, about two minutes.  Add egg and baking soda and beat for another two minutes. Roll cookie dough into teaspoon sized balls , make a small indentation and fill with your favorite jam. Bake in oven for 12 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool

About purplepeanutbutter0

We are Alex and Megan. We love to cook, eat and travel. Both of us grew up being very picky but we have learned to love and appreciate food through making almost everything from scratch. It has taught us to truly cherish what we eat day in and day out.This blog will show our daily love of cooking dinner and desserts!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less is more

  1. Mark Morley says:

    LOVE the undertaking – are you open to suggestions? If so, I think it’d be kinda neat to allow readers to ask questions, such as: how do I make the coated skin on baked chicken crispy? It always comes out “soggy”….or other solutions to common cooking problems.

Leave a Reply

